Anthony’s story

Anthony left us this beautiful story:

This pearl was given to me by a very special person and I wear it whenever I need to think and act clearly – when teaching in Camberwell for instance. When I was an actor, just starting out, I played Sebastian in Twelfth Night (I think we can claim Shakespeare as a local, at least for a time), who is whisked away by Olivia the minute she sees him (She has already fallen in love with his twin sister, dressed as a boy – it’s a complicated story). He emerges from her house, somewhat shell-shocked by the rapid turn of events.

‘This is the air; that is the glorious sun;
This pearl she gave me, I do feel’t and see’t;
And though ’tis wonder that enwraps me thus
Yet ’tis not madness….’

When I first said those lines no one had ever given me a pearl, nor did I imagine they ever would, but, as usual, Shakespeare turned out to be a prophet. Still not much to do with Wandsworth you might say, except that in the next line Sebastian says

‘ ……Where’s Antonio then?
I could not find him at the Elephant.’

This entry was posted in Participants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

